Ali Bryan shortlisted for the Leacock Medal - Freehand Books

Ali Bryan shortlisted for the Leacock Medal

The Figgs makes the Leacock Medal for Humour Shortlist


Ali Bryan is among three Canadian writers with books on the shortlist for the 2019 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour. Her novel, The Figgs (Freehand Books, 2018) is competing against two memoirs—Son of a Critch: A Childish Newfoundland Memoir by Mark Critch and Boy Wonders by Cathal Kelly—to be named the funniest new book in Canada.

The medal, which is accompanied by a $15,000 prize, will be presented at a gala dinner hosted by Ian Ferguson in Orillia, Ontario, on June 8, 2019. The three finalists were chosen by judges from across Canada from 68 books published in 2018.

ABOUT THE STEPHEN LEACOCK MEMORIAL MEDAL FOR HUMOUR: The prestigious Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour, also known as the Leacock Medal, has been awarded annually since 1947 for the best Canadian book of literary humour published in the previous year. The award has attained an international reputation and is the only one of its kind for Canadian humour writing. Past winners include Jennifer Craig (Gone to Pot), Susan Juby (Republic of Dirt), Cassie Stocks (Dance, Gladys, Dance), Patrick DeWitt (The Sisters Brothers) and Will Ferguson (Beyond Belfast). More information can be found at


Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top