Homes Trees

Homes: A Refugee Story wins the 2019 Wilfred Eggleston Award for Nonfiction

The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers’ Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors. The Nonfiction Award is named in honour of Wilfred Eggleston, a journalist and author of the memoir, Literary Friends.

Abu Bakr al Rabeeah and Winnie Yeung, authors of Homes: A Refugee Story, shared the 2019 award. Other shorlisted books were Marcello Di Cintio’s Pay No Heed to the Rockets (Goose Lane Editions) and Shawna Lemay’s The Flower Can Always Be Changing (Palimpsest Press) 

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top